Joyfulmamaheart’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

thoughts on the boy August 30, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — joyfulmamaheart @ 1:37 pm

We all headed to church bright and early on Sunday morning. Our little L was not really in the mood. Almost as soon as we arrived, Dad was back in the hall with L. B and I stayed to enjoy the hour without our grumpy baby!

About halfway through, B sat straight up all of a sudden and looked very surprised! He leaned over to me and said, “MOM! Hurry! We have to go meet him!!”

I had no idea what he was talking about.

“Who??” I whispered back.

“Jesus!!” B said excitedly.

“Huh?” I said.

“Jesus!!! That guy just said he was in the building!!”

I tried to remember what had just been said… and how B’s half-listening ears might have gotten the idea that Jesus was physically in the building, ready to meet and greet!

“Sweetie, Jesus isn’t actually… well … I’m not sure what you heard… but we actually can’t go and meet him at the moment… ” I tried to explain.

“Oh, Man!!” B looked SO dissapointed. “I’ve been waiting my whole life to meet him!!!”

After church, I had a horrible headache, and went to lay down while R fed the kids lunch and helped everyone settle down for afternoon quiet time. B asked about me and R told him I had a really bad headache and needed to rest.

“How much does it hurt?” B wanted to know. R tried to explain a headache in terms B could understand.

B responded, “Oh, poor Mommy! I wish that I could have her headache so that she doesn’t have to hurt!”

I just about cried tonight when I woke up and R told me what he said!!

We talk about this scripure- Matthew 18:3, “Except ye be converted, and become as little children, ye shall not enter into the kingdom of heaven.” Little children have such perfect faith–B’s is a bit intimidating to me at times!! He wholehearted believes that Jesus is real and approachable because we have taught him that he is! B has a natural interest in and love for others. It is amazing to me how he seems to understand gospel principles at five much better than I do at my age.

I feel so lucky to be a mama… I get the impression that these little people I am raising have to be such strong spirits to face an increasingly scary world out there. I am so glad B is confident and a good leader, I think he will need these talents in life! It also makes me so happy to see him developing faith and compassion for others along with those other practical life skills… all the while perfecting some pretty sweet ninja moves!!

 

Leave a Reply

